BWJosephJoseph Smart- Partner/ Principal

After nearly ten years of working closely together as the senior leadership of a significant Southern California office of a major architectural firm, in 2009 the Principals transformed that office into SMS Architects.

With a strong emphasis on principal involvement, our experienced staff continue building upon our reputation for taking on the most complex challenges, consistently delivering creative design solutions, technical expertise and quality of work while providing excellence in service to our clients.

Our strength is our high level of expertise and complementary skills in a variety of project types with the ability to understand each component as a separate building type or integrated into a mixed use development.

BWGreg-1Gregory G. Simonoff- Partner/ Principal

We listen to our clients and approach our work through a collaborative and interactive process involving all stakeholders. Creativity, innovation, vision and effectiveness are characteristics of our team approach.

Responding to the complex challenges inherent in shaping the future of our communities, we strive to enrich the quality of life and enhance the economic vitality of our places by creating compelling visions that bring forth a wide range of enthusiasm.

Bolstered by our history of building strong project teams and the incorporation of highly qualified staff, we are able to successfully deliver the quality and expertise our clients have come to expect.

Services Offered

SMS Architects is a full service Architectural firm providing services from Conceptual Design through Construction Administration. In addition we offer Interior Design and Planning Services that include Master Planning, Land Planning and Urban Planning.

Architectural Licenses

SMS Architects is currently NCARB certified in the states listed below with the ability to be licensed in all fifty states.

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia